Skip to Main Content

Johns Hopkins UniversityArts and Sciences Magazine

Faculty Awards

Physics and Astronomy’s Collin Broholm has won the Neutron Scattering Society (NSS) of America’s 2010 Sustained Research Prize. Broholm, the Gerhard H. Dieke Professor, specializes in experimental condensed matter physics. He was honored for his work’s “enduring impact on science,” according to the NSS, particularly his outstanding studies of correlated electron physics in magnets, metals, and superconductors, as well as for the development of neutron scattering techniques.

The American Academy in Rome recently named as its director Christopher Celenza, professor in the Department of German and Romance Languages and Literatures and director of the school’s Charles Singleton Center for the Study of Pre-Modern Europe. Celenza’s three-year term begins in July. He will be the 21st director of the 115-year-old academy, one of the leading American overseas centers for independent study and advanced research in the fine arts and humanities. Celenza will return to Homewood when his term ends.

Bounding Power: Republican Security Theory from the Polis to the Global Village, a 2007 work by associate professor of political science Daniel Deudney, has been named one of three joint winners of the International Studies Association’s Best Book of the Decade Award. The honor is bestowed every 10 years upon a book or books of “broad scope, originality, and interdisciplinary significance” with potential for a broad impact on the field of international studies over many years. Deudney’s book was previously named co-winner of the 2008 Robert Jervis and Paul Schroeder Award for the Best Book on International History and Politics by the American Political Science Association.

Chemistry professor David Draper was one of seven Johns Hopkins researchers elected this year as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Draper, director of the interdisciplinary Program in Molecular Biophysics, was named for distinguished contributions to the field of biology, particularly for contributions to the understanding of the fundamental principles of RNA folding and protein-RNA binding.

Gov. Martin O’Malley has nominated Lynn Johnson Langer, a senior associate program chair in the school’s Advanced Academic Programs, for appointment to the Maryland Technology Development Corporation (TEDCO) board of directors. Langer is the senior associate program chair of the MS in Bioscience Regulatory Affairs and the certificate in Biotechnology Enterprise. TEDCO, an independent entity, was established by the Maryland General Assembly in 1998 to facilitate the creation of businesses and foster their growth in all regions of the state.

William P. Minicozzi II, Krieger-Eisenhower Professor of Mathematics, was awarded the American Mathematical Society’s 2010 Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry, a prize he shared with research partner Tobias H. Colding of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. They were honored for a series of papers they authored in the Annals of Mathematics, in which they developed a structure theory for embedded minimal surfaces.

Kenneth B. Moss, the Felix Posen Assistant Professor of Modern Jewish History, has been named a co-winner of the 2010 Sami Rohr Prize for Jewish Literature, splitting a $125,000 prize with Sarah Abrevaya Stein, of UCLA. Moss was honored with the prize, which is administered under the Jewish Book Council, for his book Jewish Renaissance in the Russian Revolution (Harvard University Press). The annual Sami Rohr Prize recognizes writers whose books “show exceptional literary merit and stimulate an interest in themes of Jewish concern.”

In January, Winston Tabb, Sheridan Dean of University Libraries and Museums, was nominated by President Barack Obama to the National Museum and Library Services board. The board is the advisory body for the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the primary source of federal support for the nation’s 123,000 libraries and 17,500 museums.